Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Northern Valley USD 212Northern Valley Schools

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: School Board >


Ajax Loading Image


Northern Valley School Board Members Leading for Success

January 2020

January is School Board Recognition Month, a great opportunity to say thank you to the Northern Valley Schools Board of Education who are committed to the success of every student in our community.

Our Board of Education includes Hilary Van Patten (President), Shanna Hammond (Vice-President), Laquita Smith, Christopher Rogers, Rich Wenzl, and Steven Whitney.

These six community leaders volunteer hundreds of hours attending meetings, reading reports and discussing plans & Programs to support educational achievement.

"Our Board members develop policies and make complex decisions that shape the future of our education system.  They are accountable for an annual budget of $1.7 million, 139 students, 42 employees in three buildings," said Kenneth Tharman (Superintendent / HS Principal).

A Board members responsibility goes far behind the monthly meeting, however.

"They also meet with legislators and other policy makers to advocate for our schools to make sure every child has access to an excellent education.  We are grateful to have this opportunity to formally say 'thank you' to each of them ," said Tharman.

Northen Valley Schools encourages the entire community to thank a school board member, not only this month, but throughout the entire year.



  • Facebook Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • Facebook Icon

Northern Valley Schools512 W Bryant StreetAlmena, KS  67622

p. 785.669.2445

Sign up for the News Update.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top